Viewpoints of a Mechanical Mind

for piano, ensemble and live-electronics

[ 2008 ]

This piece explores the interrelation of the composed score, guided improvisation/open composition and free imrpovisation, respectively represented by the concertante pianist, the boxed ensemble and an invisible autonomous and interactive computer system.
The piece is set in a theatrical setting designed by Judith van Oostrum and Zoe Reddy and has been performed by the MAE ensemble.






Ensemble MAE:

Reinier van Houdt - piano

Koen Kaptijn - trombone

Jelte van Andel - double bass

Karolina Bäter - recorders

Noa Frenkel - voice

Ronald Boersen - live-electronics

Stage setup @ Korzo, The Hague NL




MUSIC | design